Home

SHOWCASING OUR PERMANENT COLLECTION

and

MERIDEN POST CARDS

5 SUNDAYS IN OCTOBER:

10/2, 9, 16, 23 & 30, 2016

11:00 am – 3:00 pm

At the Andrews Homestead Museum,

424 W. Main St.  Meriden CT 06451

 

In its 40th Anniversary issue dated April 17, 1926, section 3, the Meriden Daily Journal published an article titled MERIDEN BUSINESS FIRMS – WHEN ESTABLISHED with the following subtitles: “Over Eight Hundred Business Houses Here – Dates When Each Firm Started Business – Many of   Them Over a Half Century in Existence – Others More Recently Established Have Grown Into Live and Progressive Organizations – Two Over a Century Old” (click here for a link)

With a mission to preserve Meriden’s past for future generations, The Meriden Historical Society at its Andrews Homestead Museum, will showcase items made in Meriden by some of the companies mentioned in the above article as well as items related to  Meriden’s Fire and Police Departments and other Meriden institutions.

In Addition, we will be featuring a large collection of Meriden postcards on loan to us from a private collector.

Admission is free, donations are gratefully accepted.

 

 

 

 ****************

 

The Meriden Historical Society Inc. is a membership-supported, non-profit organization uniting those who are interested in the history of Meriden, Connecticut.

We operate two buildings – the Bernice C. Morehouse Research Center (left) located at 1090 Hanover Avenue, South Meriden, and the Andrews Homestead (right), 424 West Main Street, Meriden. (click on the images below for map and directions)
1090 Hanover Avenue, South Meriden, CT

 The Andrews Homestead, 424 West Main Street, is one of the oldest homes in Meriden.  Chock full of items from Meriden’s past, it is open to the public every Sunday in May and October from 11:00-3:00 pm.  Young and old (and in-between) are welcome to stop in! (for a virtual tour, scroll down and watch the video).

The Bernice C. Morehouse Research Center is open every Wednesday from 1:30 – 4:00 pm.  Admission is free – donations are appreciated.

We’d like to thank the CUNO Foundation for its generous grant that paid for the repair of the leaky roof at the Research Center.

**********************************************************************************************************************************************************

<iframe src=”http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=meridhistosoc-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=0738573329&fc1=000000&IS2=1<1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr” style=”width:120px;height:240px;” scrolling=”no” marginwidth=”0″ marginheight=”0″ frameborder=”0″>